My First Sleepover!

Three weeks ago I was having one of my daily conversations with Kristen and I said, “That’s going to be so fun when Katelyn is old enough to spend the night with me!” She replied, “Shoot, she can spend the night with you tonight!” As I was talking through our options, Kristen jumped in and said, “Are you serious about this? I mean I was kind of joking, but if you really want to do this that would be AWE-SOME!” Game on. Friday night it is. They brought Katelyn over at 5:45 and she was so excited to be at “Bitty’s house!” Kristen and Dave were all dressed up and looking super hot! Bonnie met us at my apartment and after a quick car seat installment, we were ready to go!

We drove over to one of my favorite nearby cities, Southlake. I told Katelyn we had 2 stops before we could go to our final destination. Our first stop was to Sam’s Club so Bonnie could pick up a gift card they donated to her company. The second stop was to Swoozie’s. A lot of their stores recently went out of business and we wanted to cash in on the steep discounts.  Let me just say that I now understand why moms get baby-sitters just so they can run errands by themselves. It’s really hard shopping with a toddler. I was chasing Katelyn around while Bonnie was looking through bins and then she watched her while I took a look around. Needless to say, that was a quick stop. After Swoozie’s we drove over to our final destination, Central Market. I’ve mentioned before that I absolutely LOVE Central Market. It’s my favorite place. Central Market isn’t just for grown ups though, it’s also a haven for kids! Central Market has live music on Friday and Saturday nights and the store in Southlake has a big play area for the kids to run and play in all night long! Before going to the play area, we had to pick out our dinner. Katelyn decided on her fruit first – “honey, watermeyon and gapes.”  As the nice lady was weighing Katelyn’s fruit, her manager walked up and whispered something in her ear. She handed me the fruit and said, “No charge. It’s on us.” I was confused. “Wait, what? Why? Thank you so much!” She said, “He said she’s (Katelyn) just so cute! You can thank him.” Katelyn thanked him with a smile and we were off to find the rest of her meal  – sweet potatoes and chicken strips.

The agreement was that Katelyn could go to the play area after she finished her dinner, so she enjoyed clapping and moving to the music while she was eating.

She was off to play after her last bite. It wasn’t really her last bite, but rather her last agreed upon bite.

(Katelyn only learns how to climb from the best – hardcore kids with elephant tattoos on their arms.)

After about 45 minutes of playing in the play area, I lured her away for cantaloupe ice cream. You may think that sounds gross, but that’s a combination of two of her favorites! Bonnie and I opted for chocolate and peanut butter gelato and it was a great way to end our fun-filled night!

Here is a video of Katelyn making herself laugh while eating her ice cream.

On our way home, Bonnie asked where Katelyn would sleep. I told her she was going to sleep in my bed. Katelyn chimed in and said, “Mommy says ‘Get in your bed. Do not get out of your bed.’ I get out of my bed and I knock on the door and I get a spank.” Kristen – the girl is revealing your secrets and I’m telling them to the world. Watch out.

By the time we dropped Bonnie off, got home, I gave her a bath, brushed her teeth, read her a bible story and patted her back, it was 10:30 pm. I told her to stay in her bed and that I would wake her up when the sun came up. I walked out and closed the door. Not 5 minutes later she was knocking on her door. “I have to pee!” Liar. We had just gone to the bathroom. I told her to get back in her bed and to not get out. About 10 minutes later I heard some commotion. I walked in to find her with the blinds pulled back looking out the window. “I see your neighbors!” “Katelyn… get in your bed right now. Do not get out of your bed again.” “Yes, Bitty.” I walked out and could hear her singing to herself for about 30 minutes. She was finally out at 11:15 pm. Thinking that she normally sleeps until 8:00 am, I decided to stay up a little longer. I was woken up at 5:45 am by a bright-eyed- 2-year-old ready to start her day. You’ve got to be kidding me… I got in my bed with her and asked her to just close her eyes for 15 more minutes. She wasn’t having it. “Bitty! Time to get up! Bitty, I hungy. I hungy, Bitty!” Oh my goodness. Fine. We were meeting Kristen and Dave for breakfast at 9:00, so I sliced up some strawberries and peaches for her to snack on.

She watched cartoons while I took a shower and got ready for the day. We were both dressed and ready to go at 7:30 am. What in the world are we going to do this early on a Saturday morning? Oil change and car wash? Yes, please. The oil change place had a lot of toys for her to play with and lots of books to read. The car wash had one of her favorite drinks – coffee! She enjoyed both stops and before we knew it, it was time to meet Kristen and Dave for breakfast.

No, I did not let her ride in the front seat. We were in the parking lot waiting for Kristen and Dave.

We had such a fun time together and I’m already excited for our next sleepover! I’m so blessed to be in the same city with Kristen, Dave and Katelyn and thankful for times like this. When else would I get the opportunity to teach her how to fist pump to Britney Spears songs?

7 thoughts on “My First Sleepover!

  1. And I’m really sad we don’t live in the same city with Bitty, Mousey, Kristen, and Dave so we could enjoy moments too but we’ve got Aunt Jessie and Uncle Evan. How cute a post ! One tip – say liar on “I have to pee” one time too often and you’ll be changing sheets and mattress pads or having a camp out on the floor. You’re a super Aunt and a great blogger. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Katelyn and I were laughing OUT LOUD just reading this post! You are an awesome blogger! (Yes, I’ve already used two exclamation points in my comment). Love that she only learns to climb from “hardcore” guys with elephant tattoos. Hilar! Thank you so much for hosting her…she loves you like its nobody’s business, and I can tell already that she is going to be asking to visit this particular post for a while…she loved looking at the videos and pics. The ball is in your court whenever your ready for another one…How ’bout we’ll just count on one a year and anything else is a bonus!

  3. Have her over again. I can’t wait to read your blog. You have such talent in writing; watch out J. K. Rowlings

  4. Pingback: Third Time is a Charm « It's the little things in life…

  5. Pingback: Rascal Sleeps Over. « It's the little things in life…

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

