Rascal Sleeps Over.

My niece, Katelyn, whom I lovingly call Rascal, spent the night last Tuesday. She was suuuuuper excited about it and kept asking Kristen, “Mommy, is it my sleepover today?” The day finally came and she couldn’t contain her excitement when I came to pick her up. We had so many fun things planned and couldn’t wait to start our adventure!

Our first stop? Goodwill. We had to drop off a couple of items that didn’t make the apartment consolidation criteria, which was “Have I worn this item in the past year? Have I used this item in the past year?” If the answer was no to either of those questions, the item was given away to a friend or donated. This was a liberating process and I highly suggest you do it the next time you move.

Our second stop was Bahama Bucks. Apparently, I went there enough in college to get 10 punches in my punch card, earning me/Rascal a FREE sno cone of any size. Although we could have been greedy, we decided to go with a small, which was still 16 oz. We got half pink bubble gum (for Katelyn) and half strawberry colada (for me). Although we ate most of it, I was nervous that Katelyn wouldn’t want her dinner if she ate any more. I told her to take 4 more bites before we threw it away and left for our next stop. Katelyn informed me that throwing it away would be wasteful. “Mommy and Daddy said throwing food away is wasteful and we can’t be wasteful!” I had to think quickly. “I understand that what we are about to do it wasteful, but if we keep it, it will melt and we will have to throw it away later, so we are just going to throw it away now so we don’t have to do it later. Does that sound good?” “Okay Bit.”

Our next stop was Office Depot. Each summer our church serves the city through an event called Transform. Part of this event is handing out backpacks full of school supplies to students in the community. I told Katelyn that we were going to pick out school supplies for a little boy or girl and asked her if she wanted to pick out the supplies. She said yes, she wanted to get school supplies for a little “gwirl”. I pointed out each item that the little gwirl needed for school and Katelyn picked the one she thought the little gwirl would like. She kept saying, “She is going to be so excited!” and “She is going to be sooo surprised!” She also wanted to buy that “silly little fan,” but I used the art of distraction and we were on our way.

Our next stop was the most anticipated event of the night – Chick-Fil-A. Katelyn always asks everyone at the dinner table what the best part of their day was. Katelyn and I also asked each other this question and she announced that Chick-Fil-A was the best part of her day. She met and played with 4 new friends in the play area while I chatted with the supermom of those 4 kids.

After Chick-Fil-A, we came home to play the fish game and pack our little gwirl’s backpack. After we got our PJs on, we watched Tangled while eating kettle corn popcorn with slightly melted M&Ms on top. We hit the sack at about 10:30 pm and I was looking forward to a good night of sleep. I should have remembered from a prior sleepover that Katelyn doesn’t sleep in. She woke up the next morning and cheerfully said, “Good morning Bit! It’s time to wake up!” I handed her my phone.

Me: “Katelyn, what’s the first number on there?”

K: “It’s a 6, Bit!”

Me: “Mmm. What’s the second number on there?”

K: “A 4!” ”

Me: “Okay, great. When my phone says 7-0-0, then it’s time to wake up. Until then, I’m going to keep sleeping because it’s not time to wake up yet. So whenever the light goes out and you can’t see the numbers, just push that button at the bottom and you’ll be able to see the numbers.

I slept for another 13 minutes and my personal alarm went off right at 7-0-0.

We had such a fun time at our sleepover and I’m thankful to be able to do things like this with her. Maybe one day I’ll be brave enough to take her and Anna, but I’ll stick with Katelyn for now.

3 thoughts on “Rascal Sleeps Over.

  1. Gosh she is so adorable! I hope so much that I get to have experiences like this with nieces & nephews! Although right now neither my bro nor my BIL have children anywhere even close to the radar!!!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

