He is my Portion.

As my time in Dallas winds down, I’ve been soaking up as much time as I can with friends and family. I’ve been asked a lot, “Are you excited? Are you nervous?” I’m definitely excited to see what lies ahead, and I’m more anxious from anticipation than I am nervous. I feel like I’ve been talking so much about going, it’s just kind of surreal that the time is here. To look back and see how the Lord has been preparing me for this time makes me wonder, “What is this time preparing me for?” I don’t know what will happen, but I do know that God is good and His plan for me is good.

The comforts of home have constantly been on my mind: quality time with friends and family, worshiping with my church body and engaging in deep and intentional conversation with my home group. As I sat in church this morning reflecting on these things, I was reminded of the story of the rich ruler in Luke 18:18-30. If you don’t know the story, I’ll give you a minute to read it. Although I am not rich in the eyes of the world, I do realize that I have a lot of things in my life that I am tied to and tend to hold too tight to. As I began to think of these things, the Lord spoke so sweetly to me, reminding me that He is all I need. He is enough. He is my portion. Not the treasures of this world or the comforts of home. Going into a season of unknowns, I cling to the truth that He is enough. Although I will be away from the people who spur me on to know Christ more deeply, I know that ultimately God is fully capable of drawing me to Himself apart from them.

I’ll leave you with Psalm 103:1-5.

“Praise the Lord, O my soul; all my inmost being, praise his holy name. Praise the Lord, O my soul, and forget not all his benefits – who forgives all your sins and heals all your diseases, who redeems your life from the pit and crowns you with love and compassion, who satisfies your desires with good things so that your youth is renewed like the eagle’s.”

3 thoughts on “He is my Portion.

  1. May it be Your will, Lord my God, to lead Brittany on the way of peace and guide and direct her steps in peace, so that You will bring Brittany happily to her destination, safe and sound. Save her from danger on the way. Give Brittany good grace, kindness and favor in both Your eyes and in the eyes of all whom she may meet. Hear this my prayer, for you are a God who hears to the heart’s supplication and communion. Blessed are You, Lord our God, who hears prayer. ~Jewish Prayer for Travelers

    The LORD bless you and keep you;
    the LORD make his face shine on you and be gracious to you;
    the LORD turn his face toward you and give you peace
    ~Numbers 6:24-26

    Your life has become a great example for how faithful God is when we put our trust in Him. James 2:14-25 discusses the nature of faith and how it must be accompanied by deeds or it is useless. Just as saying you have surrendered to God’s will is not the same as living it. Your decision to allow Him to guide your life completely is a testement to the rewards of being faithful and walking in His guided steps. I will continue to pray for you as you dive into the next chapter. You are truly blessed, and a true blessing to others.

  2. It was hard leaving you at the airport baggage check in stand and then seeing you go through the cattle gate security screening line. Glad you made it there safely and the kiddos weathered the flight; hope the passengers in the seats in front and behind them did as well. Spot a rainbow for me.

    Love Daddy

  3. I am so proud of you for following the spirit. “The wind blows wherever it pleases. You hear its sound, but you cannot tell where it comes from or where it is going. So it is with everyone born of the Spirit.” John 3:8 Who knows where this will lead. All I know is you will be blessed.

    Love you, MOM

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

