Aloha!

Hola!… I mean Aloha! I’m still adjusting to greeting people in Hawaii. When greeting someone in a different culture, my natural tendency is to speak the only foreign language I know, Spanish. I don’t recommend it.

We left DFW on Monday and arrived in Honolulu 8 pieces of luggage and 8 hours later. We decided to come to Hawaii a couple of days early to spend some time recovering from jet lag and to do a little sight-seeing. We stayed in Waikiki and really enjoyed it! On Monday night, I got to meet up with a friend of mine from high school who is stationed in Kailua with her husband. It was such a fun treat and so great to catch up with her! On Tuesday, we ventured out to Pearl Harbor. I wasn’t ever a fan of history class in grade school, but I really enjoyed seeing and learning about the history of Pearl Harbor. Hudson (4 years old) really liked it and was intrigued by all of the “broken boats” that we saw in the video they showed us. We came back to the hotel for some pool slides and SUP action. On Wednesday, we ventured up to the North Shore and stopped at the Dole Plantation along the way. Some of you know that I can’t have pineapple because of the high acidity, but I learned in a pineapple cutting demonstration here that Dole’s pineapples are less acidic than other pineapples. Knowing that information, I indulged in some pure goodness known as Dole Whip and it. was. good. No allergic reactions here! We ate lunch on the North Shore and stopped at a beach to check out the big waves. We continued our adventure along the coast, all the way down to Kailua. My friend that I had dinner with on Monday invited us over to her house to use their boogie boards, surf boards and SUP boards. We are thankful for you, Stacy! We had such a fun time! On our way back to the hotel, we stopped at some scenic overlooks to take in God’s creation. So amazing. When we got back to the hotel, we enjoyed our free nightly luau performance. Our hotel room had a great view from the balcony of the hotel’s nightly luau performance. The kids really enjoyed shaking their hips and dancing to the beat.

We arrived at University of the Nations this morning after a short plane ride from Oahu. We got all settled in and will be here for the next 12 weeks. I will post pictures of the campus soon, but I will leave you with pictures from our time in Waikiki.

When you’re packing for 5 months, it’s a no brainer that your AdvoCare products need their own suitcase. I’m thankful for Anna and Katelyn helping me pack. I paid them in Breakfast Bars and CitriZinc.

Sunset view from our balcony

Heather and Charlee watching the luau from the balcony, saving us $400.

The luau

The Dole Plantation

Kailua Beach

One of the scenic overlooks we stopped for.

4 thoughts on “Aloha!

  1. Can’t believe you got 5 months worth in that one bag. We are packing for a 3 day Vegas trip and taking the same size bag.

    Gorgeous part of the world. Enjoy! A perfect time to learn the Hula.

    We will live vicariously through you for awhile.
    Love, MOM

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

