Happy Thanksgiving

Although I spent this Thanksgiving away from home, I was still surrounded by good company and had much to be thankful for! We started the day off with a fancy breakfast (fancy = mixed fruit, bagels with cream cheese, apple pastries, granola and berry yogurt) and enjoyed a traditional Thanksgiving lunch. For many students on campus, this was their first time to participate in Thanksgiving festivities. I’m sure they were thankful for a change up in the food and two days out of class!

On Friday, I ventured out with two of my friends, Mirjam and Shannon, for a weekend of fun! On Friday, we headed up to Mauna Kea to watch the sunset and gaze at the stars. It was truly an incredible experience. The sunset was amazing and the view of the stars puts the open fields of Texas to shame. My jaw literally dropped when I saw how many stars there really are in the sky. I stood in awe as the words of Isaiah 40 swirled through my mind: “To whom then will you compare me, that I should be like him? says the Holy One. Lift up your eyes on high and see: who created these? He who brings out their host by number, calling them all by name, by the greatness of his might, and because he is strong in power not one is missing.” (Isaiah 40:25-26). Amen!

We stayed in Hilo Friday night and slept in on Saturday morning. Living with 6 other girls, it was so nice to not wake up to the sound of rummaging through drawers, showers, alarm clocks, cell phones ringing, and Skype conversations in foreign languages. We ate breakfast at a local place called Ken’s House of Pancakes and the food and service was really great! It was a much needed and appreciated breakfast change up. From there, we drove over to the volcano to hike the Kilueau Iki crater rim, watch the sunset and check out the glow of the lava at night. We ventured back to campus Saturday night and spent all day Sunday at the beach, a new favorite past time of mine.

Here are some of my favorite pictures from the weekend:

Happy Thanksgiving, Hawaiian style.

3 thoughts on “Happy Thanksgiving

  1. Spectacular pictures. I’d love to see the lava glow and the billions and billions of stars at night. Enjoy each moment. We miss you and looking forward to seeing you in person in February.

  2. Eeeks! I missed this post! It makes my heart so happy to see you living fully where God has you 🙂 Oh, and I totally recognize a classic Brittany pose up there (the one of you on the trail wearing that blue hoodie, classic over the shoulder Brittany pose!)! Love it and I love you too!

  3. Those sunsets are ridiculous!!! How gracious of the Lord to create something so beautiful for His children to behold…On another note, have I told you lately that I miss you?!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

